Martens PLLC Attorney At Law
Martens PLLC Attorney At Law

Trusted Law Firm Serving All Of North Dakota



Make Payment | Visa | Mastercard | Discover | American Express | LawPay

Offering Efficient, Cost-Effective Representation

Start Today With Your Initial Consultation

Marijuana and the law in North Dakota

On Behalf of | Apr 14, 2017 | Blog

Marijuana law reform has been getting a lot of publicity over the last few years and for good reason. Even though cannabis remains illegal according to federal law, the majority of states in the United States have some kind of legal marijuana program. However, the tension between federal and state law can be confusing for citizens.

Even though there is a growing trend of legalization, some forms of marijuana use can result in serious legal consequences. Knowing the rules and regulations regarding cannabis and its use will make it easier for people to follow the law.

North Dakota marijuana laws

Medical use

The state of North Dakota is one of many states in the nation that is in the process of designing and implementing a medical marijuana program. Even though the details ng decided, it is believed that this program will improve the lives of many patients.

Under Initiated Statutory Measure 5, also known as the “North Dakota Compassionate Care Act” and the “North Dakota Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative,” which was passed by popular vote on November 8th, 2016, the state of North Dakota will create a program for regulating, growing and dispensing medical cannabis. Some medical conditions that would make a patient eligible for medical cannabis include,

  • Cancer
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • AIDS
  • ALS

Criminal penalties

Even though marijuana use is becoming more accepted, the growth, use and sale of cannabis can still result in serious criminal convictions and penalties.

  • Possession – The possession of less than one ounce of marijuana is a misdemeanor that can result in 30 days to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Possessing an ounce or more is a felony that can result in 5 to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
  • Sale – Selling less than 100 pounds of cannabis is a felony that can result in 10 years in prison and a fine of $10,000. Selling more than a pound is also a felony and can result in 20 years in prison and a fine of $10,000.

Marijuana-related laws are changing very rapidly and this can make it difficult for people to know whether or not they are following the law. However, a criminal conviction can have very serious consequences and should not be taken lightly. If you are facing a potential conviction, it is suggested that you obtain the assistance of a legal professional.